The Night Sky for September and October 2004




Venus and Saturn are now prominent in the morning sky an hour or more before sunrise. Venus is that very bright, blue-white star-like object dead East. Saturn is dimmer and yellow.

Mars is also out, but so dim in the glare you won’t see it well until later in the year.

Jupiter will be coming up soon near Venus, only not as bright and more yellow-white than blue white.

For almost the rest of the year these four planets will be located in the Eastern sky a few hours before sun-up.



The crescent moon and venus seen above the rooftops in early September.



Closer shot of the moon and venus in the morning sky. You can see a hint of what is called "Earthshine" on the moon. Light reflecting off the Earth illuminates the dark portion of a moon a little, allowing you to see the full disk.

TOTAL LUNAR ECLIPSE IN LATE OCTOBER

For viewers in the Americas (Canada, the continental United States, Mexico, Central and South America) the eclipse begins at moonrise (sunset) on the night of October 27th in the central and west regions. The eclipse begins an hour or two after sunset on the east coast. Totality lasts nearly an hour and a half. (The eclipse begins at 1:14 A.M. GMT or UT on the morning of 10-28-2004 for those in England, add or subtract for different time zones, e.g. 9:14 pm EDT, 8:14 CDT or 6:14 PDT on the evening of 10-27-2004 in the United States.)

For viewers in parts of Europe and western Africa the eclipse begins in the early morning hours of October 28th sometime after midnight and before sunrise. Part of Asia can see a partial eclipse just before sunrise.

For more information check out: http://skyandtelescope.com/observing/objects/eclipses/article_1340_1.asp

 






The Musician's PlaceTo Shop!
Instant Gift Certificates!














© 2001-2005 Issues Magazine.
All Rights Reserved.
editors@issues-mag.com




Get 15 FREE prints!