The Moon and the Wiccan

In most Wiccan and pagan paths the moon plays an important part of the rituals. Certain rituals and spells work best during specific moon phases.

It takes is approximately 28 to 29 days, waxing from the new moon to the full moon, and then waning from full moon back to new moon. This is broken into quarters or phases and each is significant. The full eight phases are as follows: New Moon to Crescent to First Quarter to Gibbous to Full Moon to Disseminating to Last Quarter to Balsamic

There are actually eight distinct moon phases, but many Wiccans often work only with the four quarters.They are New Moon, Waxing (increasing) Moon, Full Moon, and Waning (decreasing) Moon.

To correspond the eight phases with the four quarters, the First Quarter equates to the Waxing Moon and the Last Quarter equates to the Waning Moon.

The New Moon

The new moon occurs when the sun and moon are in the same conjunct. When the moon is new, it is not visible in the sky because it rises at the same time as the sun. The new moon is a time of newness and beginnings. Spell work involving the start of something new or projects that favor growth are best performed under a new moon.

Spell work can effectively be worked for 3 days before and 3 days after the new moon. This is called the Dark Moon period, and is seen as a time of endings and letting go.

The Waxing Moon

The waxing moon is the period from the new moon to the full moon. This is a good time for spells that attract or bring positive change, such as spells for love, luck, wealth, or anything else positive you like to come to you. It is considered a time of growth, development, and articulation of things that already exist.

The Full Moon

The full moon occurs when the sun and moon are exactly opposite one another in the sky. The full moon is associated with the Goddess in her Mother aspect and the energy generated by the full moon is very powerful and is usually used for fertility spells and spells that can transform. It can also be used to increase psychic ability. The full moon is considered a time of achieving goals.

There are 13 full moons per year, one each month. Every year, one month will have two full moons. The second full moon is called Blue Moon and it varies from year to year.

The 12 full moons in each of the twelve months have fixed names:

January -- Storm Moon
A storm is said to rage just before it ends and the beginning of the new year.

February -- Chaste Moon
The old word for pure reflects the custom of greeting the new year with a clean soul.

March -- Seed Moon
Sowing season and the symbol of the start of the new year.

April -- Hare Moon
A time of associated with springtime and fertility.

May -- Dyad Moon
Refers to the Latin word for pair and refers to the twin stars of the constellation, Castor and Pollux.

June -- Mead Moon
During late June and most of July the meadows were mowed for hay.

July -- Wort Moon
The time when the worts were gathered to be dried and stored.

August -- Barley Moon
Barley is a symbol of the harvest.

September -- Blood Moon
Marks the season when domestic animals are butchered for winter provisions.

October -- Snow Moon
The dark season when the sun is at its lowest.

November -- Oak Moon
The sacred tree of the Druids.

December -- Wolf Moon
This animal represents the night of the year.

The Waning Moon

The waning moon is the period from the full moon to the new moon. During this time, the moon begins to decrease in size as it starts its journey back towards the Sun.

The waning moon is a period of banishment, release, and completion. Spell work designed to break bad habits, end a bad relationship, or release something old is best performed during this phase. It's also a time for introspection, reflection, and intuition.

So, as you can see, the moon is an important aspect to the Wiccan.


The Musician's PlaceTo Shop!
Instant Gift Certificates!

© 2001-2005 Issues Magazine.
All Rights Reserved.

Get 15 FREE prints!